First Belly Up Tavern Show in Three Decades Spawns Hits New and Old on RHCP’s Setlist

(photo by Nate Azark) (photo by Nate Azark)

They’ve been tight-lipped about a possible tour in 2016, but that hasn’t kept Red Hot Chili Peppers away from the stage entirely this year.

The influential funk rock group performed with Bruno Mars at Super Bowl 49 back in February and last Sunday played at the Belly Up Tavern in San Diego in conjunction with the nonprofit San Diego Foundation. Sunday’s SoCal show marked the first time since 1986 that RHCP played the venue, which was enough to generate plenty of magik within their setlist that night.

Songs from the band’s debut self-titled LP were among the mix, including “Police Helicopter” and “Mommy, Where’s Daddy?”, the first time they played the latter since 1999. Blood Sugar Sex Magic was also well represented with songs like “Under the Bridge” and “Give It Away” making the cut.

[embedit cf="HTML2"]

Below is Red Hot Chili Peppers' setlist from their Belly Up show last weekend, per

  1. Can't Stop 
  2. Factory of Faith 
  3. Nobody Weird Like Me (First time since June 29, 2007)
  4. Otherside 
  5. Police Helicopter (First time since August 24, 2003)
  6. Blood Sugar Sex Magik 
  7. Under the Bridge 
  8. Me & My Friends 
  9. Snow ((Hey Oh)) 
  10. Fire (The Jimi Hendrix Experience cover)
  11. By the Way 
  12. Mommy, Where's Daddy? (First time since November 1, 1999)
  13. Give It Away 

Related Articles